Noir Filmography of Fritz Lang

Born 5 December 1890, Vienna, Austria
Died 2 August 1976, Beverly Hills, Los Angeles, California, USA.

Fritz Lang, along with Preminger, Wilder, and Siodmak brought German Impressionism (and great genius and craftsmanship) to American film noir. Undoubtedly the king of noir filmmaking, Fritz Lang's genius is revealed in the way he evokes high suspense in a simple melodrama (Clash by Night), or in a chance meeting (Woman in the Window). Lang delights in dangling his unlucky protagonists over moral and legal edges, but leaves the truely guilty to fashion their own ruin.

Beyond a Reasonable Doubt (1956)
The Big Heat (1953)
The Blue Gardenia (1953)

Clash by Night (1952)
Fury (1936)
Human Desire (1954)
Ministry of Fear (1945)
Scarlet Street (1945)
Woman in the Window (1945)
You only Live Once (1937)

Excellent biographies of Lang by

Dark City home | film titles | directors | book titles and writers | feature | linx | web authors

(© NOIR, 2008)